The importance of revision: The concept

In the name of Allah, the Most Merciful, the Most Gracious

I actually have loads of things to post, lots of points I got from my classes, but posting all that usually takes a long time which I don’t currently have. So today, I am going to post an event I experienced today that really set me thinking.

Just now, I had hifz class. Alhamdulillah, Allah Almighty has chosen me and gave me the means to memorise half the Quran. Sadly, I took this means for granted and did not revise regularly. As a result, I forgot almost all of my previous memorisations (I have a pretty strong short term memory, so most of the time, to memorise more things, I just shove them all into my short term memory). Alhamdulillah, Allah Almighty made me realise this before it gets more difficult to recall. So now, I am revising back starting from the 30th juzu’ (I started memorising from the back).

The thing that set me thinking was a question asked numerous times from different sisters in my hifz class: How you finished memorising the whole Quran?

This is the stereotype of most people in my community, that is, only revise properly from juzu’ to juzu’ when you have finished the whole Quran. If you have not finished the whole Quran, just memorise new stuff and only revise the Juzu’ that you are currently memorising.

The word Haafidzh is usually used for those who have memorised the whole Quran. In my opinion, even a person who has only memorised an ayah/verse of the Quran should be called a Haafidzh as a Haafidzh literally means a person who takes care of something. In context, Haafidzh can mean the person who takes care of the Quran in his head, even though it is only 1 verse. Thus being chosen by Allah Almighty to take care of his beautiful manual for life is a huge privilege  and also an even bigger responsibility.

..عَنْ عَبْدِ اللَّهِ بْنِ عُمَرَ ـ رضى الله عنهما ـ أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم قَالَ ‏”‏ أَلاَ كُلُّكُمْ رَاعٍ، وَكُلُّكُمْ مَسْئُولٌ عَنْ رَعِيَّتِهِ

On the authority of Abdullah ibn U’mar (ra): Allah’s Apostle said, “Surely! Everyone of you is a guardian and is responsible for his charges…”

Full hadith can be found at: http://sunnah.com/urn/67080

So being a responsibilty bestowed on you from your Creator, one must take care of it with all his might,  just like the responsibility of being given eyesight etc.

To take care of it, one must revise consistently so as to not lose it.

Please correct me if I had said anything wrong as I am just a weak servant of the Divine.

Wassalaam…

Categories: Hifz (memorisation) | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The importance of revision: The concept

  1. the middle road

    Assalamu alaikum

    Perhaps you might find this helpful:

    http://tmr123.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/maintaining-hifzul-quran/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

