Contentment

In the name of Allah, the most Gracious, the most Merciful.

Alhmadulillah, I’ve finished all my competitions for this semester. I lost 2 of them and got 3rd for one of them. I know Allah wants to tell me something. To lose just a week after winning, but I can’t figure it out. Maybe He wanted to teach my ego a lesson. Maybe He wanted to test me to see how I reacted, whether I would thank Him, or to lament my fate.

Anyway, I woke up this morning feeling so contented and at peace. I don’t know why. Maybe its something I dreamt. I was contented the whole morning. Contented with my life. Contented with this world.

I shouldn’t be feeling this way. There is this hadith,

Narrated by Abu Hurairah r.a,

Rasulullah (saw) said which means: “This Dunya is a prison for the Mu’min (The faithful) and paradise for the Kaafir (The infidels)”
(Muslim)

and also

On the authority of Abdullah ibn Umar (May Allah be pleased with them both), he relates that the Prophet (Peace be upon him) once held my shoulders and said:

Live in this world as (if you are) a wayfarer or a stranger.” And Abdullah ibn Umar (May Allah be pleased with them both) used to say: “If you live till night, then do not wait for the next day (i.e. do not have hopes that you will live to the next day), and if you wake up in the morning do not have hope that you will live till the night. And take (advantage) from your health before your sickness and take advantage of your life before your death (i.e. do every possible obedience in your life before death comes to you for then no deeds can be performed.)”

[Bukhari and Tirmidhi]

I think the explanation from dailyreminders.wordpress.com is the best:

The similitude of ‘Living in this world as a wayfarer’ is like that of a traveller in this world who undertakes a journey and then stops to rest under the shade of a tree in a particular place. So the traveller ties his mount, lays down his luggage and retires for a moment under the shade in the midday heat, reclining against the tree. Then after having rested a while, he gathers his belongings, unties his mount and resumes his journey moving away from the temporary resting place, where he had sheltered for a short time. Such is the similitude of man in this world, who resides in this temporary abode of the world for a short time, and then he must thereafter continue his journey towards his real destination, which is the hereafter.

As we all know, humans are always not contented while in journey. Imagine…

You are on this path to the light. You have to encounter many obstacles like woods, broken twigs. You are always fearful of beasts lurking in the shadows that would divert you from your path and lure you to their den, or ambush you and rob you of your belongings. They are all waiting for that moment to strike, the moment you let your guard down, the moment you rest and lose yourself in the beauty and false pleasures of the forest. When you are hungry, you may accidentally eat some juicy looking beries which could take your life. This could all be avoided if you stick on your path no matter what distractions come your way, however enticing in might look. If you never stop to rest, if you keep that light signalling the end of your journey, your ultimate destination, in sight. If you hold on to the rope thrown to you to make sure you don’t lose your way. If you gather just sufficient provisions. If you know to differentiate between the edible and inedible berries. If you belief that there is always someone guiding you..

Think about all the above similitudes…

1) Woods and broken twigs

2) Beasts that lure you to their den

3) Beasts that ambush you and rob you of your belongings

4) The moment you let your guard down and rest

5) The moment you lose yourself in the beauty and false pleasures of the forest

6) Juicy looking beries which could take your life

7) Stick on your path no matter what distractions come your way

8) If you keep that light signalling the end of your journey, your ultimate destination, in sight.

9) If you hold on to the rope thrown to you to make sure you don’t lose your way

10) If you know to differentiate between the edible and inedible berries

 11) If you belief that there is always someone guiding you

 So, all said, I should not be contented with this world. I am a traveler after all. I have not even attained complete khusyu’ (concentration) in my prayers yet. I still have not tasted the sweetness of iman yet.

On the authority of Anas ibn Malik (may Allah be pleased with him), that the Prophet (may the blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said: “There are three qualities whosoever has them, may taste the sweetness of Faith: firstly one who loves Allah and His Messenger (may the blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) above all else; secondly one who loves someone simply for the sake of Allah, and thirdly, one who loathes return to disbelief, after Allah has rescued him from it, as he would loath being thrown into the Fire.”

(Bukhari and Muslim)

I have not even cried when reading the Quran, like how other soft-hearted people do. My heart has not even soften yet.

I shouldn’t be contented, not now, not ever! (in this dunya)

Note: Think about the similitudes I’ve mentioned. I’ll post them on my next post.

All the good here is from Allah the Divine while all the bad stuff here is from me.

I sincerely apologise for anything wrong I’ve said in this post.

Wassalaam

Categories: Imaan (Faith), Miscellaneous, My thoughts... | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Contentment

  1. The feeling which you have that you have lost in some papers will give you a sort of motivation to perform well next time. Don’t worry, work hard and keep praying to Allah. Success will touch your feet. Vassalam.

    • JazakAllah for the motivation brother. There is much truth in your words. May Allah Almighty motivate you further on your path to Him.
      Wassalaam

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

