The life of this world

Bismillaahirrahmaanirraheem

SubhanAllah, today had been an eye-opener. I’ll start from the beginning…

I woke up, ate my sahuur and got ready to go to the mosque for Subh Prayers. Suddenly, there was this excruciating pain in my stomach. I decided not to go to the mosque and prayed Subh at home, asking Allah to relieve me of this pain. Alhamdulillah, it went away about an 1/2 an hour later:)

At school…

I had this group of friends which I realise that they are “iman reducing”. So, I have been distancing myself from them without their knowledge. As I said, they had been my friends so I tell them almost everything. So today, as I was resting my head on my table in class, they called out to me.(I was sitting on one end of the class and they the other-I was distancing myself remember?)

I was having a splitting headache so I just looked up and proceeded to put my head back on the table. Before my head reached the table,  they asked me: Suhailah you __________________________(something shameful they know about me, (my previous self)) right?

Heres a tip: To avoid answering certain questions, act blur. It really works:)

So I acted blur and rested my head on the table, pretending to be asleep. The hurt of every one in my class knowing that fact about me that was supposed to be a secret really hurt. The shame…It brings back memories of how far I had been from Allah the previous years.

Suddenly this few verses came to my mind as I thought that this is all dunya, only Allah knows that I have changed and no opinion matters but His.

20: Know that the life of this world is but amusement and diversion and adornment and boasting to one another and competition in increase of wealth and children – like the example of a rain whose [resulting] plant growth pleases the tillers; then it dries and you see it turned yellow; then it becomes [scattered] debris. And in the Hereafter is severe punishment and forgiveness from Allah and approval. And what is the worldly life except the enjoyment of delusion.

21: Race toward forgiveness from your Lord and a Garden whose width is like the width of the heavens and earth, prepared for those who believed in Allah and His messengers. That is the bounty of Allah which He gives to whom He wills, and Allah is the possessor of great bounty.
22: No disaster strikes upon the earth or among yourselves except that it is in a register before We bring it into being – indeed that, for Allah , is easy –
23: In order that you not despair over what has eluded you and not exult [in pride] over what He has given you. And Allah does not like everyone self-deluded and boastful –
24:  [Those] who are stingy and enjoin upon people stinginess. And whoever turns away – then indeed, Allah is the Free of need, the Praiseworthy.
It strikes me of how all these things in this world, entertainment etc., are all amusement and it also diverts us from the Truth. I am still trying to figure out its relationship with what happened today as at that point of time, it made so much sense but now, it is all jumbled up.
We read these kind of verses lots of time but we never actually thought about it, what it really means. We don’t really ponder upon it (at least me anyway), what it implies. Like my previous post on the second verse of the Quran. There must be a reason why Allah repeated these verses many times, again and again. This shows its utmost importance in our lives that we have to be reminded repeatedly about the fact in those verses.
It is like something our parents repeat from young: Don’t waste food.
We had to be reminded again and again so we would start to think: Why? And so we will ponder upon it.
Sorry if this post, as have been my other posts, is very disorganised. I usually type my ideas on the spot, without planning, except few of them.
All the good here is from Allah and all the bad is from my weak self.
Wassalaam:)
Categories: Miscellaneous, My thoughts... | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

