Ramadhaan ’12

Bismillah Ar-Rahmaan Ar-Raheem

This came a bit late so please forgive me…

Ramadhan has passed. Its time to reflect upon ourselves: have we gained anything from this madrasah?

Allah did not bless Ramadhan without any purpose. He did not chain Syaithaan up without any reason. He did not ask us to suppress our nafs without any justification. We did not go through all those hardships for nothing.

Allah gave us Ramadhan to guide and nurture our Imaan. He wants us to learn something, gain experience, from Ramadhan. Something to help us cope for the other 11 months when Syaithaan is free to deviate mankind.

The question is, How has Ramadhan affected you? What do you feel? Do you feel equipped for the next 11 months? Do you feel confident in facing Syaithaan?

If not, the reality is that you have not really unlocked the secrets of Ramadhan PBUH had said that many people who fast but gained nothing from their fast except hunger and thirst.

Syawwaal is the time to really sit down and reflect upon ourselves, as whatever we decide to do in this month will determine what we have really gained from Ramadhan and what we will likely be doing for the following months.

As I have said in a previous post here, Ramadhan is the time where our ability to see the Truth is at its peak as one of our enemies has gone MIA. So, another thing to reflect on is what am I lacking as a Slave of Allah? What do I need to improve on in this Dunya? Is what I am doing now affecting my Akhirah?

For me, I have pinpointed a few discrepancies in my self, but I am sure there is more.

1) I sleep too much.

2) I am very big headed on the inside

3) I think I am better than others

4) I have this habit of thinking bad about others (Suu’ Az-Zhann)

5) my heart is void of sincerity to Allah

And the lists goes on and on. I know I’ll never be perfect but the least I can do is try to be perfect as Allah knows His Slave who strives for Him and Allah’s Help is with those who help themselves.

So now, we have to reflect on what must we do to get rid of or at the very least lessen these discrepancies.

On my part…

1) Stop sleeping in the afternoon(I usually sleep for 3 hours-my Qayluylah(short nap in the afternoon-a sunnah) usually exceeds) and in classes(use contact lenses), Also, SLEEP EARLY AT NIGHT.

2) Allah Almighty is Bigger and Greater. All that I have is just a loan from Him. He chooses to give loans to anybody. I should feel grateful and not big headed as Allah Lord Of The Worlds has chosen to give me this loan.(still workingon this. Anymore suggestions? )

3) I may be better than others in some ways but there are still more of those who are better than me. Who knows what will be my end?(Allah of course)

I once heard this…

Never look down at the one without knowledge, as they sin without knowing. Only Allah knows of their state of death. We with knowledge on the other hand, sin with knowledge and are in danger of Takabbur(egoism). Who knows what state we will be in when we die?(Only Allah). Allah forbid we die in the state of kufr(disbelief) while they in Iman(belief). (Wali’yaazu Billaah!)

Never look down at the ones with knowledge as they know what we don’t.

Never look down on the young as they have lots more time to worship Allah in their hands(If Allah permits)

Never look down on the elderly as they have worshipped Allah far more longer than we had.

4) Only Allah knows what is in peoples’ hearts. If I think bad about others, I’d have sinned but if I think good about others, I’ll get peace and also reward from Allah InsyaAllah for abstaining from sin.

Allah Amighty said in the Quran:

O you who have believed, avoid much [negative] assumption. Indeed, some assumption is sin. And do not spy or backbite each other. Would one of you like to eat the flesh of his brother when dead? You would detest it. And fear Allah ; indeed, Allah is Accepting of repentance and Merciful.

49:12

What’s left to say!?

5)  Nobody’s opinion matter but His.

Elaborated here

I really hope you could help me in my effort to change by contributing suggestions:)

Most important thing is to change for The Creator and not for the created

So to sum it all up…

Things to reflect on after Ramadhaan:

1) Have we gained anything?

2) What are the things lacking from our Iman (Our discrepancies)

3) How do we overcome this discrepancies ie.change for the better…

-in the short term (by next Ramadhan)

-in the long term

Hope this benefits:)

All the good here is from Allah while the bad and anything that is lacking here is from yours truly.

A late Eid Mubarak to all you dear readers!

 

Categories: My thoughts... | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ramadhaan ’12

  1. ANd a late Eid Mubarak to you too. It’s also good to know that – if the Ramadan spirit has faded, we have the best 10 days of the year coming up insha-Allah (1st 10 days of Dhul Hijjah) – so it’s a chance to jump head first into intense ibadah again and reap rewards far greater than these ‘ordinary’ non-Ramadan months.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

